National Board

YHA New Zealand is governed by a National Board. The Board is elected by members with two co-opted positions. It acts in the best interests of YHA in order to ensure long-term sustainability.

YHA New Zealand is a not for profit membership-based organisation. The governance role of the Board focuses on YHA's wider issues of organisational purpose, including strategic direction and board-level policies. YHA operates in a commercially challenging environment; the Board’s commercial abilities are critical to ensure YHA's long-term sustainability.

The Board delegates the responsibility of managing the organisation to the General Manager who works with their team to ensure that objectives and goals are achieved.

Elections are held annually for positions on the National Board, and successful candidates serve for up to a three-year term. Election results are announced at YHA's Annual General Meeting.

2023/2024 Board Members

  • Maureen McCloy (Chair)
  • Nancy Ward
  • Ian Lothian
  • Vivien Jones
  • Darin Cusack
  • Mark Ebrey
  • Luke Tarplett (Deputy Chair)

(from left to right)

Interested in becoming a Board Member? Nominations for our National Board are now closed and will reopen in late 2024.

Make sure you're registered! We have moved to an electronic voting system only, so if you have an email address please let us know so that we can ensure you are applicable to vote. Update your details here.

Christchurch Port Hills at dusk with a pink sky on the horizon. Read more

Our Heritage

Read more

YHA Christchurch bike leaning on wall of botanical gardens Read more

Formal Documents

Read more